A Song for Issy Bradley kindle ´ 352 pages Ë Carys Bray

book Ö A Song for Issy Bradley Å Carys Bray

A Song for Issy BradleyA mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt faith and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy for fans of Me Before You Little Bee and Tell the Wolves I’m Home  The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible and where nothing is important than family This is their story   It is the story of Ian Bradley husband father math teacher and Mormon bishop and his unshakeable belief that everything 25 StarsA stroy about a mormon family and their struggles with life and faith We read about a broken family hoping for miracles so they can carry on when their world falls apartI think perhaps my expectations were too high when I began reading this novel And while I didn't dislike it it just didn't float my boat either I enjoy reading about different religions and am always interested to learn something new However I didn't connect with any of the characters in this novel Half ways through the book I found that I couldnt name the characters before I opened the book one evening or put faces to them and for me this was a real problem and therefore this the main reason I didn't love the story I wasn't emotionally invested in the story as others readers seem to have been and I really didn't find it a page turner I did however enjoy reading details and facts about the Mormon faithThis will probably make a wonderful movie but as a novel its not one for my favorite shelf

Carys Bray Å A Song for Issy Bradley kindle

Seven year old Jacob whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed probably bigger than a toffee candy he thinks and which he’s planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle   Intensely moving unexpectedly funny and deeply observed A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart 35I found this book almost unbearably sadit's about a family tragedy and how it affects the different members of that familyIt's also about the Mormon faith something I knew very little about so from this point of view it was something of an educationThere are some very well drawn characters one who made me angry and some who broke my heart and actually made me cry Not a favourite book but one I'm glad to have read even though its theme made reading it uite difficult at times

text A Song for Issy Bradley

A Song for Issy Bradley kindle ´ 352 pages Ë Carys Bray Ë A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt faith and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy—for fans of Me Before You Little Bee and Tell the Wolves I’m Home  The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible and where nothiWill turn out all right if he can only endure to the end like the pioneers did It is the story of his wife Claire her lonely wait for a sign from God and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy   And it is the story of their children sixteen year old Zippy experiencing the throes of first love; cynical fourteen year old Al who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and Grief like love is often a rainbow We cope with loss and grief in our own ways We struggle reject accept rave and rant against the ache of loss ‘A Song For Issy Bradley’ is a beautiful moving elegy on grief When the devout Bradley family lose their youngest Issy to a sudden and unexpected illness grief steals a march on each of the members in its own insidious ways The mother Claire shuts down and retreats from the outside world Jacob the little boy who follows Issy in terms of age is the most heart rending thinking of ways to resurrect Issy He broke my heart did this boy a child after my own heart with all the thoughts he had in his little head Ian the husband turns to faith than ever before Alma the oldest struggles with missing Issy and finding ways to rebel from the Mormon strictures Zippy is in love and finds the temptations of that all too sinful Together they all form a beautiful family Not the picture perfect family that others post on Facebook or Instagram No This is the real family with the aching vulnerabilities the pain the agony of trying to understand loss and fitting together pieces when you are not whole This is a story that reminded me at some level of Patrick Ness’s ‘A Monster Calls’ My poor poor Jacob